When being tired is ruining your life

tiredness

I promise myself continuously that next week is going to be different. That I’m going to wake up at 6:00am to look glamorous for work. I’m going to finish everything on my to-do list for the day. I will finish all of my school-work before Sunday and most importantly… that my hair and make up will be absolutely flawless every day of the week (hence the reason for waking up 30 minutes earlier). But, each and every week, I break this promise to myself and can’t help but to feel angry and frustrated.

But, why does this happen? Well, I can give you a plethora of reasons and excuses… but it all comes down to one specific reason that encompasses all the reasons: I’M TIRED. Yes, extremely tired. Yesterday, I felt like I was coming undone. I wasn’t able to attend my Wednesday night yoga class because I came home early from work and fell asleep through the class. I had high hopes of waking up and going to the gym at night to complete my own routine. But, I woke up with a terrible headache and raging hunger. I realized that yesterday, I passed the point of tired and entered the realm of exhaustion. With exhaustion, a plethora of symptoms appear. According to helpguide.org, a burnout may produce the following:

– blunted expressions
– loss of motivation
– feeling extremely tired and drained
– feeling sick
– frequent headaches
– lack of appetite
– inability to sleep
– loss of memory

I was exhibiting all of the above symptoms before one appeared, that caused me to take action: feeling sick. I think it was my body’s attempt and getting me to stop doing whatever I was doing. I felt sick to my stomach, nauseous, and just overall tired. The type of tired where you have not one bit of strength in your body. I sincerely felt like I was coming undone. Kind of like when your trying to sow a broken pillow, but you somehow can’t. It’s bursting at the seams. I was bursting at the seams. I was cranky and crabby. my hair looked like I put my finger in the electrical socket, I looked straight out of a horror movie with the bags under my eyes… and then, around 12pm, my body just gave out and I started feeling sick.

I share this experience with you so that you won’t find yourself in my shoes. I plan on taking my own advice on this one. But, I attributed the burnout to the following factors

  • Diet and Exercise: Although I exercise quite a lot, I need to make better food choices. I don’t necessarily eat very unhealthy. I really try to make the best choices. But, I need to take into consideration that I am up for many, many hours at a time. I typically wake up at 6:30 and I won’t see my bed again till at least 12. That’s 17 1/2 hours of being awake. If you do the math, you’ll quickly realize I’m only getting 6 1/2 hours of sleep. I don’t eat frequently enough for the amount of time I am awake. I stick with 3 square meals, which needs to change effective immediately. It is much healthier to be eating 5 times a day in order to keep myself energized for the next portion of the day. Don’t forget to incorporate fruits and vegetables. I usually take lunch at 1:30 (not by choice) and what happens is that I’m SO SO hungry that I am unwilling to make those healthier choices because my migraine headache and empty stomach are begging me to take the most filling options. That leads me to the following advice: take lunch to work or plan ahead. It’ll be worth it. Even if you exercise regularly, if your food choices don’t compliment your exercise routine, it’s really a lost battle. And it’s really not a battle I’m willing to lose after spending time and money on a fitness membership.
  • GET ENOUGH SLEEP! I can’t stress this enough. As mentioned above, I calculated that I was getting 6 1/2 hours of sleep daily. While one day may not effect you, you will start feeling the effects of lack of sleep by the second or third day. As the days go by, you will start think you are going crazy. Lack of sleep produces hallucinations and inability to make rational decisions. It’s the equivalent of being on drugs. A recent study showed that people get in more accidents who are suffering from exhaustion, as compared with those who are INTOXICATED! You wouldn’t show up drunk to work. Lack of sleep pretty much makes you look and act the same. Drunk and hung-over at the same time! If you think 6 1/2 hours of sleep is enough, think again! At least for me, it makes sense that it wouldn’t be. I don’t take any naps during the day. I work pretty much 9 hours a day, I engage in strenuous physical activity, and complete school work late into the evening hours. I also maintain a house, 3 dogs and 3 cats. I should be attempting to get the full 8 and once I do, I imagine that I will see big changes in energy cycles!
  • HAVE YOU EVER TRIED ACUPUNCTURE? I haven’t! But, I would like to start! Many people have ranted and raved about the effects of acupuncture, helping them with a variety of issues all the way from exhaustion, to illness, to fertility. It really can’t hurt to try.
  • VITAMINS: I am not a fan of vitamins. I really don’t like them. I’ve suffered with several gastric issues as a child, and thus, I’m of weary of swallowing any pills. But, gummy vitamins might do the job well. Maybe you need that extra kick. If you’re still weary about vitamins (as I completely understand if you are), try mixing a vitamin powder into your juice or coffee in the morning. It just might give you the extra kick you need. It’s a much better alternative than resorting to energy drinks.

Today is the day I started making changes to my life. So, if you’d like to join me, I hope you don’t hold back!!!

Leave a Reply

