Why I’m fed up completely with FIU

Not too long ago, I would have signed up to be a crusader for my school. But, as a student, I feel completely and totally cheated out of my graduate school experience due to lack of advising. I was accepted as a full time graduate degree seeking student in October of 2015, although, at this point, I was already taking courses. However, it has been since this time that I have tried to get in touch with an adviser. It was only yesterday that someone bothered to tell me that I needed to fill out a particular form in order to ensure that the classes I took, at this same institution, would be counted towards my program. I have to ask myself, why didn’t anyone tell me this earlier?

I am working towards this career because I have significantly been disheartened regarding working with children, parents, and administration. The field of education is a “height-ist” industry, but I will get into that in another post. I am really satisfied with my current career. For the first time in my life, I am being valued for my credentials and my job performance, rather than judged by how far off the floor my head is or by my youthful complexion. But, I’m regressing. So, I decided to take a course, “Educational Psychology,” thinking that it’s principles would apply across the board of education. I was so wrong! Without any voice, I was placed a group whose assigned project was on sixth grade reading comprehension. I work with people primarily between the ages of 18-25. I help people decipher on a career of choice. I am heavily involved in running university operations daily. Please tell me about how the thousands of dollars that were paid towards this course are relevant to my job? The disservice wasn’t just done to me, but also to the office human resources, who are so generously waiving my tuition under the presumption that my school work ties into my job.

I feel that being accepted into this program was a huge accomplishment on my part. From the time that I started my undergraduate career, I has been a dream of mine to graduate with my master’s degree. But, I’m disappointed in the unprofessional manner with which students are being handled in the program.

Additionally, choosing courses has been quite a challenge, being it that all of the classes fill up so quickly. I am saddened, particularly because I was interested in attempting to graduate by December in order to fulfill my dream of moving from this city and beginning a new chapter in my life in a two-story house with my fur children. But, due to lack of class availability, it doesn’t seem that this will even be an option. Being it that I am in graduate school I’m not sure why I have to share that same burden with an undergraduate student. Graduate students should be assured a spot in the courses they would like to be taking the following semester. Aside from that, I am also an employee at the university, which, I believe, should guarantee me some sort of priority in picking classes, since I donate 40 hours of my week to this institution. Since my schedule can be verified by a simple click, I should be able to chose a schedule without running into any issues.

While for many people, careers are chosen because it is related to a fabulous experience, I can attest that for me, it has been the opposite. Lack of advising and common sense on the part of this institution has led me to encourage reform. Why do I want to advise? Why do I want to help students? Well, the way I see it, I do many things because it is what I wish I would have had differently in my life. I went to a school all of my life where I was severely psychologically and emotionally abused. Rather than running off and never looking back, I attempted to become a teacher to ensure that never happened to another child. In some regards, I’m grateful for this experience, because it prompts me to do better, to treat students better, and be the person that I never had the chance to encounter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

